The complexity of life

Yannick Olivier Orounla
2 min readMay 31, 2019

When you’re dealing with complex systems with infinite interactions, the more likely it is you’ll get stuck. You can’t solve everything with the same approach, and you never know: You might need to break out of the loop. A system that is complex to get your head around (such as a game of tennis or rock-paper-scissors) usually requires much more effort, especially when your intuition says that there are simple strategies that will work; you’ll learn to play harder (and not simply ignore them) when you see that one of the options is correct.”

“I think the key is to approach the problems as they exist right now. Do whatever feels right, be realistic in your responses, but then learn how to apply the lessons, and make better decisions.”

“A common mistake I see when I work with students who feel like they’re struggling more than their peers is not challenging yourself on some kind of self-assessment. Rather, I tend to respond appropriately towards what’s going on, and the more self-aware you are, the more likely you’ll learn.

By the end of a game or by just trying, you can probably begin to understand what’s going on.”

“I’ll never get it right every time, but I think I’ve begun to do a decent job. What works in

--

--